Home › Christmas tree permits › Colorado

Where can I cut my own Christmas tree in Colorado?

Short answer: Yes. You can cut your own Christmas tree in 4 national forests in Colorado.

Lowest listed price: Grand Mesa, Uncompahgre and Gunnison: $8 per tree.

Pick a forest

Arapaho and Roosevelt National Forests

Has 2026 info
  • Price: $20 per tree
  • How many: Up to 5 trees on one Recreation.gov permit. Household limit not stated on the Forest Service page.
  • Permit sales: Oct 8, 2026 – Jan 6, 2027
See Arapaho and Roosevelt details

Grand Mesa, Uncompahgre and Gunnison National Forests

Has 2026 info
  • Price: $8 per tree
  • How many: One tree per permit; 5 permits per household
  • Permit sales: Nov 12 – Dec 31, 2026 (4:30 p.m.)
See Grand Mesa, Uncompahgre and Gunnison details

Pike and San Isabel National Forests

Has 2026 info
  • Price: Pike NF districts: $20 per tree. San Isabel NF districts: $10 per tree.
  • How many: Pike districts: 5 per family. San Isabel districts: 2 per family.
  • Permit sales: South Platte RD: online only, from Oct 8 (8 a.m. MT), limited and may sell out. Pikes Peak, South Park, Salida, Leadville, San Carlos: Nov 16.
See Pike and San Isabel details

White River National Forest

Has 2026 info
  • Price: $10 per permit
  • How many: 5 permits per person
  • Permit sales: Online sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).
See White River details

Compare side by side

What the labels mean: Has 2026 info the forest has posted 2026 details. Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet these are the forest's current official rules, but 2026 dates aren't posted yet. Older year shown — 2026 not posted yet only an older season is published, and we show which year.

ForestPriceHow manyWhen to buySize rule2026 info
Arapaho and Roosevelt$20 per treeUp to 5 trees on one Recreation.gov permit. Household limit not stated on the Forest Service page.Oct 8, 2026 – Jan 6, 2027Trunk 6 in. or less in diameter (strictly enforced).Has 2026 info
Grand Mesa, Uncompahgre and Gunnison$8 per treeOne tree per permit; 5 permits per householdNov 12 – Dec 31, 2026 (4:30 p.m.)Max height 20 ft.Has 2026 info
Pike and San IsabelPike NF districts: $20 per tree. San Isabel NF districts: $10 per tree.Pike districts: 5 per family. San Isabel districts: 2 per family.South Platte RD: online only, from Oct 8 (8 a.m. MT), limited and may sell out. Pikes Peak, South Park, Salida, Leadville, San Carlos: Nov 16.Up to 15 ft tall or 6 in. diameter at ground level.Has 2026 info
White River$10 per permit5 permits per personOnline sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Under 15 ft tall.Has 2026 info

Data Source: Recreation.gov (for forests marked as using Recreation.gov listings).

Firewood permits in Colorado

Personal-use firewood permits on these forests: Arapaho and Roosevelt ($10 per cord on the E-Permits listing) · Grand Mesa, Uncompahgre and Gunnison ($5 per cord) · Pike and San Isabel (price not posted) · White River (price not posted). Compare all firewood permits.

Sources

Last verified Oct 2026.

See all states and forests

Independent site. Forest Permit Finder is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or operated by the USDA Forest Service or Recreation.gov. Permit rules change; always check the official page before you go. Information last verified Oct 2026.