Home › Christmas tree permits

Compare every forest (2026)

All 41 national forests on this site, side by side. Tap a forest's name for plain-language details and the button to buy your permit.

No public-land permit found: Ohio, Pennsylvania. Those pages point you to choose-and-cut tree farms.

What the labels mean: Has 2026 info the forest has posted 2026 details. Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet these are the forest's current official rules, but 2026 dates aren't posted yet. Older year shown — 2026 not posted yet only an older season is published, and we show which year.

ForestPriceHow manyWhen to buySize rule2026 info
Coconino (AZ)Not listed on the Recreation.gov description — shown at checkoutNot statedNov 14, 2026 at 10:00 a.m. Eastern (online)Max 10 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Kaibab (AZ)$15 per treeUp to 5 trees on a single permitOct 8, 2026 (7:00 a.m.) – Dec 31, 2026Listed on Recreation.gov.Has 2026 info
Klamath (CA)$10 per treeMax 5 treesOnline sales opened Oct 8, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Do not cut trees over 4 in. in diameter.Has 2026 info
Lassen (CA)$10 per tree2 permits per householdNov 1, 2026 (in person Nov 1 – Dec 24 during business hours)See the Lassen Fuelwood & Christmas Tree Cutting Map and tips page.Has 2026 info
Arapaho and Roosevelt (CO)$20 per treeUp to 5 trees on one Recreation.gov permit. Household limit not stated on the Forest Service page.Oct 8, 2026 – Jan 6, 2027Trunk 6 in. or less in diameter (strictly enforced).Has 2026 info
Grand Mesa, Uncompahgre and Gunnison (CO)$8 per treeOne tree per permit; 5 permits per householdNov 12 – Dec 31, 2026 (4:30 p.m.)Max height 20 ft.Has 2026 info
Pike and San Isabel (CO)Pike NF districts: $20 per tree. San Isabel NF districts: $10 per tree.Pike districts: 5 per family. San Isabel districts: 2 per family.South Platte RD: online only, from Oct 8 (8 a.m. MT), limited and may sell out. Pikes Peak, South Park, Salida, Leadville, San Carlos: Nov 16.Up to 15 ft tall or 6 in. diameter at ground level.Has 2026 info
White River (CO)$10 per permit5 permits per personOnline sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Under 15 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Sawtooth (ID)$10 per treeOne tree per family or organizationOnline sales open Nov 13, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Up to 20 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Shawnee (IL)$5 per treeOne tree per permit; household limit not stated.Online sales open Nov 17, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Only eastern red cedar, loblolly pine, shortleaf pine and white pine.Has 2026 info
Hiawatha (MI)$5 per treeOne tree per permit; household limit not stated.Online sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Maximum 20 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Huron-Manistee (MI)$5 per treeUp to five permits per person each season; one tree per permit.Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026.Maximum 20 ft tall and 6 in. in diameter.Has 2026 info
Ottawa (MI)$5 per treeOne tree per permit; household limit not stated.Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026.No trees over 25 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Chippewa (MN)$5 per treeOne permit for each tree; household limit not stated.Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026. Also sold at all Chippewa National Forest offices, or by mail.Common species: red pine, balsam fir, black spruce and white spruce.Has 2026 info
Superior (MN)$5 per treeTwo tags per household per year (Forest Service page); one tree per tag.Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026. Tags are also sold at district offices during office hours, or call a district office to arrange pick-up.Balsam fir is preferred.Has 2026 info
Mark Twain (MO)Free — no permit needed for small, personal-use amountsMinor, personal-use quantities only (no number stated).No permit to buy.Not stated on the forest's pages.Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
Flathead (MT)$5 per treeUp to 3 trees per householdOnline sales opened Oct 8, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Max 12 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Kootenai (MT)$5 per treeOne tree per permitOnline sales opened Oct 8, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Max 12 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Lolo (MT)$5 per treeUp to 3 permits per personNot yet postedMax 12 ft tall.Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
White Mountain (NH)$5 per treeOne tree per family (one permit per household).Online sales open Nov 9, 2026 (Recreation.gov). Also sold at district offices.Hand tools only (ax or handsaw).Has 2026 info
Deschutes (OR)$5 per tree5 permits per householdSeasonal on Recreation.gov — 2026 date not yet postedAny species under 12 ft tall.Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
Fremont-Winema (OR)$5 per treeUp to 5 trees on one Recreation.gov permit.Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Max 15 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Malheur (OR)$5 per treeUp to 5 trees on one Recreation.gov permit.Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Max 12 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Mt. Hood (OR)$5 per tree5 trees per household per yearOnline sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Max 15 ft (larger trees at a per-foot cost from your ranger district).Has 2026 info
Ochoco (OR)Not listed on the official pages — shown at checkout on Recreation.govOne permit is required for each tree. Five permits maximum per household.2026 date not yet posted.Any species less than 12 ft tall.Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
Rogue River-Siskiyou (OR)$5 per tree.One permit is required for each Christmas tree. Five permits maximum per household.2026 date not yet posted.Any tree species less than 12 ft tall.Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
Siuslaw (OR)$5 per treeOne tree per permit; 5 permits per householdOnline sales opened Oct 8, 2026 (Recreation.gov). Also sold at district offices.Max 12 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Umatilla (OR)$5.00 per permit in person (Forest Service page, last updated Mar 2025).One tree per permit (Recreation.gov listing). The forest asks that you limit permits to one per household, but you can buy for neighbors, family and friends.2026 date not yet confirmed. The Forest Service page says permits go on sale November 15, without naming a year. The Recreation.gov listing shows online sales opening Nov 12, 2026.Trees up to 14 ft tall.Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
Umpqua (OR)Free in 20264 trees per household per season; no resaleNo purchase needed — print the free guidelines and district mapSee the printed cutting guidelines from the forest's Special Forest Products page.Has 2026 info
Wallowa-Whitman (OR)$5 per tree (Recreation.gov listing).Up to 5 trees per Recreation.gov permit (La Grande, Whitman and Wallowa Valley Ranger Districts). A household limit is not stated on the Forest Service page.Online sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Trees up to 15 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Willamette (OR)$5 per tree5 permits per householdEvery holiday season — 2026 date not yet postedTrees up to 15 ft tall.Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
Dixie (UT)Trees up to 10 ft: $10. Trees 11–20 ft: $20.Up to 5 trees on one Recreation.gov permit.Oct 8, 2026 (online)Max 20 ft (contact the district for larger).Has 2026 info
Manti-La Sal (UT)$10 per treeUp to 5 trees on one Recreation.gov permit.Oct 8, 2026 (online)Listed on Recreation.gov.Has 2026 info
Uinta-Wasatch-Cache (UT)$20 per permitOne per householdOnline sales open Nov 10, 2026 (Recreation.gov). In person from Nov 9, 2026 (Heber-Kamas and Evanston-Mountain View locations). Heber-Kamas online permits sold in three batches and likely to sell out.Up to 20 ft.Has 2026 info
Green Mountain (VT)$5 per treeUp to two trees: 2 permits per household per year.On sale now online (sales opened Oct 8, 2026).Maximum 20 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Colville (WA)Free — no permit required (since 2025)Not statedNo permit neededNot stated — check the forest's downloadable maps.Older year shown — 2026 not posted yet
Gifford Pinchot (WA)$5 per tree5 trees per householdOnline sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).See the forest's 'How to Select and Cut a Tree' page.Has 2026 info
Okanogan-Wenatchee (WA)$5 per tree2 permits per familyOnline sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Max 15 ft.Has 2026 info
Olympic (WA)$5 per treeUp to 5 permits per household. Each permit is good for one tree.On sale now on Recreation.gov (online sales opened Oct 8, 2026).Max 15 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Chequamegon-Nicolet (WI)$5 per treeUp to five permits per person; one tree per permit.Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026.Maximum 20 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Monongahela (WV)$5 per treeOne permit per household; one tree per permit.Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026.Cut a tree with needles, like pine or spruce.Has 2026 info

Data Source: Recreation.gov (for forests marked as using Recreation.gov listings).

Download the full dataset: permits.json.

Independent site. Forest Permit Finder is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or operated by the USDA Forest Service or Recreation.gov. Permit rules change; always check the official page before you go. Information last verified Oct 2026.