Wallowa-Whitman National Forest: Cut Your Own Christmas Tree (2026)
Has 2026 info
How your family can cut a Christmas tree on the Wallowa-Whitman National Forest in Oregon, 2026 season. Every fact below comes from the forest's official pages, linked at the bottom.
Quick facts
- Price: $5 per tree (Recreation.gov listing).
- How many: Up to 5 trees per Recreation.gov permit (La Grande, Whitman and Wallowa Valley Ranger Districts). A household limit is not stated on the Forest Service page.
- Permit sales: Online sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).
- Cutting season: Nov 12 – Dec 31, 2026 (permit season listed on Recreation.gov).
Where can I cut?
- At least 50 ft from the road.
- Not on private land, in wilderness areas, designated campgrounds or existing plantations.
- Not in active timber sales or areas planted with new trees.
- Not in the Baker City Watershed, Anthony Lakes Campground or Ski Area, Starkey Experimental Forest, La Grande Watershed, or the Hurricane Creek and Lostine drainages.
- Not within 1/4 mile of wild and scenic river corridors.
- Not within sight distance of State Highways.
- Recreation.gov also lists designated Old Growth areas as off-limits.
When can I buy a permit?
- Online sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).
- Cutting season: Nov 12 – Dec 31, 2026 (permit season listed on Recreation.gov).
How much?
- $5 per tree (Recreation.gov listing).
- Extra fees: Online purchases on Recreation.gov carry a small transaction fee.
How do I buy it?
What's an online permit? It's a permit you buy on Recreation.gov, the U.S. government's official booking website. You pay there, then follow the instructions that come with your permit.
- Online at Recreation.gov, at local Forest Service offices, and at local retailers in Baker City, Enterprise, Halfway, Island City, Joseph, La Grande, Richland, Sumpter, Unity, Union and Wallowa, OR, and Clarkston, WA (listed on the Forest Service page).
- The Wallowa Mountains Office in Joseph has a vending machine for after-hours purchases.
Rules to know
- How many: Up to 5 trees per Recreation.gov permit (La Grande, Whitman and Wallowa Valley Ranger Districts).
- A household limit is not stated on the Forest Service page.
- Trees up to 15 ft tall.
- Stump no larger than 6 in. in diameter.
- Leave stumps no higher than 10 in.
- It is illegal to top a tree.
- Cut down the entire tree.
- Cut off any green limbs left on the stump.
- The program is for families, businesses and institutions cutting their own tree. Commercial cutting permits are not available.
- Permits don't cover private, state or other federally managed lands.
- Forest roads may be muddy, icy or snow-covered. Check weather and road conditions before you go.
- Office phone numbers: Whitman RD-Baker Office (541) 523-6391; La Grande District (541) 963-7186; Wallowa Mountains Office, Joseph (541) 426-5546; Hells Canyon NRA, Clarkston, WA (509) 758-0616.
Before you go
- Check this forest's official page and alerts the week you go. Rules, roads and closures can change.
- Cut only on National Forest land, never on private, state or tribal land.
- Forest roads are often unplowed. Check the weather and road conditions.
- Follow your permit's instructions for carrying, tagging or displaying it.
What to bring:
- Your permit (printed, if your forest asks you to print it)
- A hatchet, ax or saw (check your forest: some ban chainsaws)
- Warm gloves, boots and extra warm clothing
- Rope to tie your tree down
- A flashlight, first aid kit and tire chains
- Water, a hot drink, lunch or snacks (it always takes longer than expected)
Need firewood too? See the Wallowa-Whitman firewood permit page.
Sources
- Forest Service: Forest Products Permits (Wallowa-Whitman), Christmas Tree Permits section
- Recreation.gov: Wallowa-Whitman National Forest Christmas Tree Permit
More in Oregon: Deschutes · Fremont-Winema · Malheur · Mt. Hood · Ochoco · Rogue River-Siskiyou · Siuslaw · Umatilla · Umpqua · Willamette · All Oregon options
Independent site. Forest Permit Finder is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or operated by the USDA Forest Service or Recreation.gov. Permit rules change; always check the official page before you go. Information last verified Oct 2026.