Home › Firewood permits

Personal-use firewood permits on national forests

Cut your own firewood on a national forest. Here is what a personal-use permit costs on 41 forests, how much you can cut, and how to get one. Every fact links to the forest's official page.

How does a firewood permit work?

Compare forests

Price posted the official page posts a price (or says it's free). Price not posted — ask the district the official page doesn't post a price yet; ask the ranger district.

ForestPriceHow muchOnline?Status
Coconino (AZ)$5 per cord for oak, aspen, juniper and maple.Up to 12 cords per household per year (paid permits).Office / vendorPrice posted
Kaibab (AZ)$20 for 10 cords (paid permit).Up to 20 cords per year (paid).Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Klamath (CA)$5 per cord, $20 minimum per transaction.Up to 12 cords per calendar year.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Lassen (CA)$20 for 10 cords ($2 per cord) in 2026.10-cord purchase.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Arapaho and Roosevelt (CO)$10 per cord on the E-Permits listing.2-cord minimum, 10-cord maximum (E-Permits listing).Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Grand Mesa, Uncompahgre and Gunnison (CO)$5 per cord.4 cords minimum, 20 cords maximum.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Pike and San Isabel (CO)Not posted.Sold per cord.Yes (E-Permits)Price not posted — ask the district
White River (CO)Not posted on the official page.Not posted on the official page.Office / vendorPrice not posted — ask the district
Sawtooth (ID)$6.25 per cord, 4-cord minimum.4 cords minimum, 10 cords maximum per household.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Shawnee (IL)$5 per CCF, 4 CCF minimum ($20).4 CCF minimum, 20 CCF maximum per person for up to one year.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Hiawatha (MI)$20 per permit.Not stated on the forest page.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Huron-Manistee (MI)$4 per cord.5 cords minimum, 15 cords ($60) maximum per year.Office / vendorPrice posted
Ottawa (MI)$20 per permit.4 CCF minimum, 12 CCF maximum per person per year (4 CCF is about 5 full cords).Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Chippewa (MN)$20 ($5 a cord, 4 cords).4 cords per $20 permit.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Superior (MN)$20 for 4 cords.4 cords per $20 permit.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Mark Twain (MO)$20 per permit for 4 CCF.4 CCF per permit.Office / vendorPrice posted
Flathead (MT)Free for personal use.Not stated on the current page.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Kootenai (MT)Free for personal use.Not stated on the current page.Office / vendorPrice posted
Lolo (MT)Free for personal use.Up to 12 cords.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
White Mountain (NH)$20 for 2 cords, then $10 for each extra cord.2 cords minimum, 5 cords maximum per calendar year.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Deschutes (OR)Free for personal use.Up to 8 cords per household per year.Office / vendorPrice posted
Fremont-Winema (OR)Not posted on the forest's page.Not posted on the forest's page.Office / vendorPrice not posted — ask the district
Malheur (OR)Free for personal use (free-use permit).Up to 8 cords per household per year.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Mt. Hood (OR)Free for personal use.Up to 6 cords per household per year.Office / vendorPrice posted
Ochoco (OR)Free for personal use.Up to 8 cords per household per year.Office / vendorPrice posted
Rogue River-Siskiyou (OR)Free for personal use.Up to 10 cords per household per year, forest-wide.Office / vendorPrice posted
Siuslaw (OR)Free for personal use.1–3 cords over 20 days, or up to 6 cords over 40 days.Office / vendorPrice posted
Umatilla (OR)Free for personal use.Up to 12 cords per household per year.Office / vendorPrice posted
Umpqua (OR)Free for personal use.Up to 10 cords.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Wallowa-Whitman (OR)Free for personal use.Up to 10 cords per household per year.Office / vendorPrice posted
Willamette (OR)Free for personal use.Up to 6 cords per household per year.Office / vendorPrice posted
Dixie (UT)$5 per cord, $20 minimum purchase.Up to 12 cords.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Manti-La Sal (UT)$5 per cord, four-cord ($20) minimum.4 cords minimum, 10 cords maximum per household.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Uinta-Wasatch-Cache (UT)4 cords for $30 (minimum).4 cords minimum, 10 cords ($75) maximum per household.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Green Mountain (VT)$10 per cord, $20 minimum (2 cords).2 cords minimum, 10 cords maximum.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Colville (WA)Free for personal use.Up to 12 cords per household.Office / vendorPrice posted
Gifford Pinchot (WA)Free for personal use.Up to 6 cords per household per year, forest-wide.Office / vendorPrice posted
Okanogan-Wenatchee (WA)Free for personal use.Not stated for free personal-use permits on the official page.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Olympic (WA)Free for personal use.Up to 6 cords per person per calendar year.Office / vendorPrice posted
Chequamegon-Nicolet (WI)$5 per cord.4 cords minimum, 12 cords maximum per person per year.Yes (E-Permits)Price posted
Monongahela (WV)$20 per permit.Up to 5 cords, on one ranger district.Office / vendorPrice posted

Arizona

California

Colorado

Idaho

Illinois

Michigan

Minnesota

Missouri

Montana

New Hampshire

Oregon

Utah

Vermont

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Price not confirmed: Pike and San Isabel, White River, Fremont-Winema. Their official pages explain how to get a permit but don't post a price.

Looking for a Christmas tree instead? Compare Christmas tree permits.

Independent site. Forest Permit Finder is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or operated by the USDA Forest Service or Recreation.gov. Permit rules change; always check the official page before you go. Information last verified Oct 2026.