Olympic National Forest: Firewood Permits (2026)
Price posted
How to get a personal-use firewood permit on the Olympic National Forest in Washington: what it costs, how much you can cut, when, and the key rules.
Quick facts
- Price: Free for personal use.
- How much: Up to 6 cords per person per calendar year.
- Season: Not stated on the Forest Service page.
How much does it cost?
- Free for personal use.
How much wood can I cut?
- Up to 6 cords per person per calendar year.
When can I cut?
- Not stated on the Forest Service page.
How do I get a permit?
- The Forest Service page doesn't say where to get the free permit.
- Contact an Olympic National Forest office.
Rules to know
- Campers may collect downed dead wood for immediate use without a permit.
- Personal-use wood cannot be sold or processed into a product for sale.
- To sell firewood, buy a commercial permit: $5 per cord, $20 minimum, up to 10 cords per year ($50 maximum).
Before you go
- Check fire restrictions the day you cut. Chainsaw use is often limited or banned in hot, dry weather.
- Cut only on National Forest land in open areas, never on private, state, tribal or BLM land.
- Stay on open roads. Use the forest's Motor Vehicle Use Map.
- Keep firewood local. Moving it can spread insects and diseases that kill trees.
What to bring:
- Your permit and load tickets or tags (printed, if bought online)
- A chainsaw with a working spark arrester, or a hand saw or ax
- A shovel and a fire extinguisher (many forests require them)
- Gloves, eye and ear protection, and sturdy boots
- A truck or trailer that can carry the weight (a full cord can weigh thousands of pounds)
Cutting a Christmas tree? See the Olympic Christmas tree permit page.
Sources
More firewood in Washington: Colville · Gifford Pinchot · Okanogan-Wenatchee · All forests · Washington state page
Independent site. Forest Permit Finder is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or operated by the USDA Forest Service or Recreation.gov. Permit rules change; always check the official page before you go. Information last verified Oct 2026.