Home › Christmas tree permits › Washington

Where can I cut my own Christmas tree in Washington?

Short answer: Yes. You can cut your own Christmas tree in 4 national forests in Washington.

Lowest listed price: Colville: Free — no permit required (since 2025).

Pick a forest

Colville National Forest

Older year shown — 2026 not posted yet
  • Price: Free — no permit required (since 2025)
  • How many: Not stated
  • Permit sales: No permit needed
See Colville details

Gifford Pinchot National Forest

Has 2026 info
  • Price: $5 per tree
  • How many: 5 trees per household
  • Permit sales: Online sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).
See Gifford Pinchot details

Okanogan-Wenatchee National Forest

Has 2026 info
  • Price: $5 per tree
  • How many: 2 permits per family
  • Permit sales: Online sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).
See Okanogan-Wenatchee details

Olympic National Forest

Has 2026 info
  • Price: $5 per tree
  • How many: Up to 5 permits per household. Each permit is good for one tree.
  • Permit sales: On sale now on Recreation.gov (online sales opened Oct 8, 2026).
See Olympic details

Compare side by side

What the labels mean: Has 2026 info the forest has posted 2026 details. Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet these are the forest's current official rules, but 2026 dates aren't posted yet. Older year shown — 2026 not posted yet only an older season is published, and we show which year.

ForestPriceHow manyWhen to buySize rule2026 info
ColvilleFree — no permit required (since 2025)Not statedNo permit neededNot stated — check the forest's downloadable maps.Older year shown — 2026 not posted yet
Gifford Pinchot$5 per tree5 trees per householdOnline sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).See the forest's 'How to Select and Cut a Tree' page.Has 2026 info
Okanogan-Wenatchee$5 per tree2 permits per familyOnline sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Max 15 ft.Has 2026 info
Olympic$5 per treeUp to 5 permits per household. Each permit is good for one tree.On sale now on Recreation.gov (online sales opened Oct 8, 2026).Max 15 ft tall.Has 2026 info

Data Source: Recreation.gov (for forests marked as using Recreation.gov listings).

Firewood permits in Washington

Personal-use firewood permits on these forests: Colville (free) · Gifford Pinchot (free) · Okanogan-Wenatchee (free) · Olympic (free). Compare all firewood permits.

Sources

Last verified Oct 2026.

See all states and forests

Independent site. Forest Permit Finder is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or operated by the USDA Forest Service or Recreation.gov. Permit rules change; always check the official page before you go. Information last verified Oct 2026.