Home › Christmas tree permits › Oregon

Where can I cut my own Christmas tree in Oregon?

Short answer: Yes. You can cut your own Christmas tree in 11 national forests in Oregon.

Lowest listed price: Umpqua: Free in 2026.

Pick a forest

Deschutes National Forest

Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
  • Price: $5 per tree
  • How many: 5 permits per household
  • Permit sales: Seasonal on Recreation.gov — 2026 date not yet posted
See Deschutes details

Fremont-Winema National Forest

Has 2026 info
  • Price: $5 per tree
  • How many: Up to 5 trees on one Recreation.gov permit.
  • Permit sales: Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026 (Recreation.gov).
See Fremont-Winema details

Malheur National Forest

Has 2026 info
  • Price: $5 per tree
  • How many: Up to 5 trees on one Recreation.gov permit.
  • Permit sales: Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026 (Recreation.gov).
See Malheur details

Mt. Hood National Forest

Has 2026 info
  • Price: $5 per tree
  • How many: 5 trees per household per year
  • Permit sales: Online sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).
See Mt. Hood details

Ochoco National Forest

Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
  • Price: Not listed on the official pages — shown at checkout on Recreation.gov
  • How many: One permit is required for each tree. Five permits maximum per household.
  • Permit sales: 2026 date not yet posted.
See Ochoco details

Rogue River-Siskiyou National Forest

Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
  • Price: $5 per tree.
  • How many: One permit is required for each Christmas tree. Five permits maximum per household.
  • Permit sales: 2026 date not yet posted.
See Rogue River-Siskiyou details

Siuslaw National Forest

Has 2026 info
  • Price: $5 per tree
  • How many: One tree per permit; 5 permits per household
  • Permit sales: Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026 (Recreation.gov). Also sold at district offices.
See Siuslaw details

Umatilla National Forest

Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
  • Price: $5.00 per permit in person (Forest Service page, last updated Mar 2025).
  • How many: One tree per permit (Recreation.gov listing). The forest asks that you limit permits to one per household, but you can buy for neighbors, family and friends.
  • Permit sales: 2026 date not yet confirmed. The Forest Service page says permits go on sale November 15, without naming a year. The Recreation.gov listing shows online sales opening Nov 12, 2026.
See Umatilla details

Umpqua National Forest

Has 2026 info
  • Price: Free in 2026
  • How many: 4 trees per household per season; no resale
  • Permit sales: No purchase needed — print the free guidelines and district map
See Umpqua details

Wallowa-Whitman National Forest

Has 2026 info
  • Price: $5 per tree (Recreation.gov listing).
  • How many: Up to 5 trees per Recreation.gov permit (La Grande, Whitman and Wallowa Valley Ranger Districts). A household limit is not stated on the Forest Service page.
  • Permit sales: Online sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).
See Wallowa-Whitman details

Willamette National Forest

Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
  • Price: $5 per tree
  • How many: 5 permits per household
  • Permit sales: Every holiday season — 2026 date not yet posted
See Willamette details

Compare side by side

What the labels mean: Has 2026 info the forest has posted 2026 details. Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet these are the forest's current official rules, but 2026 dates aren't posted yet. Older year shown — 2026 not posted yet only an older season is published, and we show which year.

ForestPriceHow manyWhen to buySize rule2026 info
Deschutes$5 per tree5 permits per householdSeasonal on Recreation.gov — 2026 date not yet postedAny species under 12 ft tall.Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
Fremont-Winema$5 per treeUp to 5 trees on one Recreation.gov permit.Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Max 15 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Malheur$5 per treeUp to 5 trees on one Recreation.gov permit.Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Max 12 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Mt. Hood$5 per tree5 trees per household per yearOnline sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Max 15 ft (larger trees at a per-foot cost from your ranger district).Has 2026 info
OchocoNot listed on the official pages — shown at checkout on Recreation.govOne permit is required for each tree. Five permits maximum per household.2026 date not yet posted.Any species less than 12 ft tall.Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
Rogue River-Siskiyou$5 per tree.One permit is required for each Christmas tree. Five permits maximum per household.2026 date not yet posted.Any tree species less than 12 ft tall.Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
Siuslaw$5 per treeOne tree per permit; 5 permits per householdOnline sales opened Oct 8, 2026 (Recreation.gov). Also sold at district offices.Max 12 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Umatilla$5.00 per permit in person (Forest Service page, last updated Mar 2025).One tree per permit (Recreation.gov listing). The forest asks that you limit permits to one per household, but you can buy for neighbors, family and friends.2026 date not yet confirmed. The Forest Service page says permits go on sale November 15, without naming a year. The Recreation.gov listing shows online sales opening Nov 12, 2026.Trees up to 14 ft tall.Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
UmpquaFree in 20264 trees per household per season; no resaleNo purchase needed — print the free guidelines and district mapSee the printed cutting guidelines from the forest's Special Forest Products page.Has 2026 info
Wallowa-Whitman$5 per tree (Recreation.gov listing).Up to 5 trees per Recreation.gov permit (La Grande, Whitman and Wallowa Valley Ranger Districts). A household limit is not stated on the Forest Service page.Online sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).Trees up to 15 ft tall.Has 2026 info
Willamette$5 per tree5 permits per householdEvery holiday season — 2026 date not yet postedTrees up to 15 ft tall.Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet

Data Source: Recreation.gov (for forests marked as using Recreation.gov listings).

Firewood permits in Oregon

Personal-use firewood permits on these forests: Deschutes (free) · Fremont-Winema (price not posted) · Malheur (free) · Mt. Hood (free) · Ochoco (free) · Rogue River-Siskiyou (free) · Siuslaw (free) · Umatilla (free) · Umpqua (free) · Wallowa-Whitman (free) · Willamette (free). Compare all firewood permits.

Sources

Last verified Oct 2026.

See all states and forests

Independent site. Forest Permit Finder is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or operated by the USDA Forest Service or Recreation.gov. Permit rules change; always check the official page before you go. Information last verified Oct 2026.