Where can I cut my own Christmas tree in Michigan?
Short answer: Yes. You can cut your own Christmas tree in 3 national forests in Michigan.
Lowest listed price: Hiawatha: $5 per tree.
Pick a forest
Hiawatha National Forest
Has 2026 info- Price: $5 per tree
- How many: One tree per permit; household limit not stated.
- Permit sales: Online sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov).
Huron-Manistee National Forests
Has 2026 info- Price: $5 per tree
- How many: Up to five permits per person each season; one tree per permit.
- Permit sales: Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026.
Ottawa National Forest
Has 2026 info- Price: $5 per tree
- How many: One tree per permit; household limit not stated.
- Permit sales: Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026.
Compare side by side
| Forest | Price | How many | When to buy | Size rule | 2026 info |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hiawatha | $5 per tree | One tree per permit; household limit not stated. | Online sales open Nov 12, 2026 (Recreation.gov). | Maximum 20 ft tall. | Has 2026 info |
| Huron-Manistee | $5 per tree | Up to five permits per person each season; one tree per permit. | Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026. | Maximum 20 ft tall and 6 in. in diameter. | Has 2026 info |
| Ottawa | $5 per tree | One tree per permit; household limit not stated. | Online sales opened Oct 8, 2026. | No trees over 25 ft tall. | Has 2026 info |
Firewood permits in Michigan
Personal-use firewood permits on these forests: Hiawatha ($20 per permit) · Huron-Manistee ($4 per cord) · Ottawa ($20 per permit). Compare all firewood permits.
Sources
- Recreation.gov: Hiawatha National Forest Christmas Tree Permit
- Recreation.gov: Huron-Manistee National Forest Christmas Tree Permit
- Recreation.gov: Ottawa National Forest Christmas Tree Permit
Independent site. Forest Permit Finder is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or operated by the USDA Forest Service or Recreation.gov. Permit rules change; always check the official page before you go. Information last verified Oct 2026.