Lolo National Forest: Cut Your Own Christmas Tree (2026)
Current rules — 2026 dates not posted yet
How your family can cut a Christmas tree on the Lolo National Forest in Montana, 2026 season. Every fact below comes from the forest's official pages, linked at the bottom.
Quick facts
- Price: $5 per tree
- How many: Up to 3 permits per person
- Permit sales: Not yet posted
- Cutting season: Not stated
Where can I cut?
- Lolo NF lands.
- Excluded areas include the Rattlesnake NRA and Pattee Canyon Recreation Area (see brochure).
When can I buy a permit?
- Not yet posted
- Cutting season: Not stated
How much?
- $5 per tree
- Extra fees: $2.50 transaction fee on Recreation.gov.
How do I buy it?
What's an online permit? It's a permit you buy on Recreation.gov, the U.S. government's official booking website. You pay there, then follow the instructions that come with your permit.
- Recreation.gov (print it) or a local ranger station (review the Christmas Tree Brochure first).
Rules to know
- How many: Up to 3 permits per person
- Max 12 ft tall.
- Stump max 6 in. high and 6 in. diameter.
Before you go
- Check this forest's official page and alerts the week you go. Rules, roads and closures can change.
- Cut only on National Forest land, never on private, state or tribal land.
- Forest roads are often unplowed. Check the weather and road conditions.
- Follow your permit's instructions for carrying, tagging or displaying it.
What to bring:
- Your permit (printed, if your forest asks you to print it)
- A hatchet, ax or saw (check your forest: some ban chainsaws)
- Warm gloves, boots and extra warm clothing
- Rope to tie your tree down
- A flashlight, first aid kit and tire chains
- Water, a hot drink, lunch or snacks (it always takes longer than expected)
Need firewood too? See the Lolo firewood permit page.
Sources
More in Montana: Flathead · Kootenai · All Montana options
Independent site. Forest Permit Finder is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or operated by the USDA Forest Service or Recreation.gov. Permit rules change; always check the official page before you go. Information last verified Oct 2026.